Home » Uncategorized » Reek, Reek, It (sort of) rhymes with “I need a drink.”

Reek, Reek, It (sort of) rhymes with “I need a drink.”

I was never much of a drinker when I was younger. Beer tasted too earthy and wine too bitter. Then I discovered the fantastic world of cocktails. They can be strong or sweet or fizzy or colorful – there’s a cocktail to suit whatever mood or taste you desire. Luckily for me, my boyfriend has become an amateur Tiki drink mixologist, so I can down zombies and Singapore slings until the cows come home.

Which brings me to links, links! With Game of Thrones drinks! Sadly, I wasn’t able to find a lot of related cocktails, but I did find a blog with a list of several ASoIaF cocktails, a couple of which sound pretty good (except the Bailey’s and lime juice. BARF). And LA Weekly had a special Fire and Ice cocktail made up for the Golden Globes. (And yes, it should be an Ice and Fire cocktail. I know that. You know that. But not everybody does. Sigh.) And Bar None Drinks made a cocktail called the Iron Throne.

“But Elissa,” you might say. “What if I just want a cocktail that can be slightly punny when I host my Season 2 viewing parties this spring?” I’m glad you asked! Those of the Lannister persuasion would be best served with a Lion’s Tail, while those with a more Baratheon bent would do well with a Stag Manhattan. And for those longing for the days of the Targaryens, try a Red Dragon. And I’m not positive, but I’m willing to bet that the Greyjoys just do shots of Kraken rum and saltwater.

And if you have a soft spot for Jon Snow, you can always try my personal favorite, a Suffering Bastard.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

