Home » Knitting » Winter is Coming and I have a SCARF

Winter is Coming and I have a SCARF

UPDATE: More pictures of the lined scarf and pattern tutorial here!

It’s almost here! In a few hours, the year-long wait for season two of Game of Thrones will be over. And just in the nick of time, I have finally managed to finish the fabled Winter is Coming scarf. It only took weeks and weeks of knitting and attempting to knit and trying to figure out this crazy Fair Isle knitting method. And boy, is it big. Like, almost six feet long. At least I won’t be cold.

For the knitters in the group wondering about the details, I used Blue Sky Alpacas Worsted Cotton in 625 graphite for the letters and direwolf  (1 skein) and 615 tulip for the background (2 skeins). For the design, I used a letter pattern found here and the direwolf sketch I made when I was designing my hankies. In retrospect, I should have used a sans serif font to make my life easier, but I had to push on through once I had started. Also, my direwolf’s legs are a little uneven. Oops.

And now on to the pictures!

This was the only way I could make the entire scarf fit into one picture.

A closeup of the direwolf

And my poor little lion Thom had to be my unwitting model, but at least he got treats as payment.

And here is a pattern for the direwolf in case anyone wants to make one.

All in all, I think it turned out pretty well, considering this is the first time I have made a pattern and done Fair Isle. The stockingette stitch is causing it to curl a lot, even after I blocked it, but it makes it a lot thinner and chicer, in my opinion. I’m looking forward to wrapping it around me to watch the premiere tonight.

10 thoughts on “Winter is Coming and I have a SCARF

  1. Very cool! I’m currently reading the fourth book in the series and am neck deep in obsession. I was thinking today that I’d like a Stark scarf like the Harry Potter fanatics tend to make for themselves. Great job!

    • Thanks so much! And yeah, there needs to be some sort of scarf/cloak/something attire that we can make to show our allegiances. Let me know if you have any questions!

  2. Hi, I was wondering the gauge on the scarf. I was wanting to knit up a copy. How wide is the scarf? How many stitches across is it when flat? Thank you.

    • Alva, I guess I should have mentioned the important stuff. I used size 8 needles, and gauge was 7 rows or 5.5 stitches an inch. The scarf is just under 6 inches wide and 76.5 inches long. It’s 25 stitches across and 334 rows long. For spacing, I did 30 rows of white at the beginning and end, 6 rows of white between letters and 24 rows between words. Hope that helps!

  3. Very nice! you should really make one for each of the houses… Especially the Targaryens. I really want to see one for the Targaryens. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Winter is Coming… | Pretty Little Pink Things

  5. I love this scarf… I’m actually working on a panel for a blanket that will have the Targaryen dragon on it… I had to frog it over the weekend because it started puckering too badly… I DID manage to complete a fairly decent direwolf sigil, though 🙂 I just have to figure out how to scale it down into a scarf.

Leave a Reply

